DUI PENALTIES IN FRESNO COUNTY

POTENTIAL PENALTIES FOR DUI IN CALIFORNIA

In California, DUI is handled seriously and penalties are tough. DUI is identified as operating a car while impaired having a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08% or greater or operating a vehicle while compromised by a chemical substance or a controlled substance. If you've been charged with driving under the influence in Fresno County, you face a number of different likely consequences, that include jail or prison time, community service, fines, loss of driving privileges, and vehicle impoundment.

California does not give you the chance of expunging (eliminating or sealing from public access) a DUI record. A DUI conviction will stay against your driving record for 75 years.

In the event you are found guilty of DUI, your penalty may differ greatly depending on the circumstances of the case plus the judge who presides in your case. Maximum consequences also vary depending upon your past record as well as the competence of your Fresno County DUI attorney.

First DUI - No Probation

  • Prison time anywhere from 96 hours to 6 months
  • Fines between $390.00 to $1,000.00, with potential penalty assessments for such things as the quantity and ages of travellers in the vehicle in addition to how far the driver's BAC exceeds the legal limit
  • License suspension ranging anywhere from 6 to 9 months
  • No mandatory participation is necessary, however the DMV is not going to restore your suspended driving license if you don't prove you attended an alcohol treatment program.

First DUI - Probation

  • Time in jail ranging between 48 hours to 6 months
  • Fines anywhere from $390.00 to $1,000.00, with conceivable penalty assessments for such things as the quantity and ages of passengers in the car as well as how far the driver's BAC exceeds the limit
  • License suspension ranging anywhere from 6 to 9 months
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol treatment program. Should your BAC be less than 0.20%, 4 month attendance is required. If your BAC was higher than 0.20%, 9 month attendance is required

Second Conviction (Within 10 Years) - No Probation

  • Jail time between 90 days to 1 year
  • Fines ranging between $390.00 to $1,000.00, with conceivable penalty assessments for things like the quantity and ages of passengers in the motor vehicle along with how far the driver's BAC surpasses the legal limit
  • License suspension for a minimum of 2 years
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol treatment program for 18 months to 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program

Second Conviction (Within 10 Years) - Probation

  • Incarceration ranging between 96 hours to 1 year
  • Fines ranging anywhere from$390.00 to $1,000.00, with potential penalty assessments for things like the quantity and age of passengers in the vehicle as well as how far the driver's BAC exceeds the limit
  • License suspension for a minimum of 2 years
  • Mandatory involvement in alcohol treatment program for 18 months or 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program

Third Conviction (Within 10 Years)

  • Prison time ranging between 120 days to 1 year (Fresno County Judges usually impose 180 days)
  • Fines anywhere from $390.00 to $1,000.00, with conceivable penalty assessments for such things as the quantity and age of travellers in the motor vehicle in addition to how far the driver's BAC surpasses the limit
  • License suspension ranging anywhere from 2 to 3 years
  • Mandatory involvement in alcohol treatment program for 18 months or 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program.

Fourth or Subsequent Conviction (Within 10 Years)

  • Jail time between of 180 days to 16 months
  • Fines between $390.00 to $1,000.00, with conceivable penalty assessments for things such as the number and age of passengers in the motor vehicle as well as how far the driver's BAC exceeds the limit
  • License suspension anywhere from 2 to 4 years

Those people who are in prison for DUI could also be forced to complete DUI-related courses or have an ignition interlock device installed and monitored, at their own expense.

If you've been arrested for DUI in Fresno County, a qualified lawyer can determine the best process to help reduce or eliminate potential penalties. A strong defense team may be able to mitigate the consequences of a DUI arrest.